Hope Floats

“You couldn’t change the past. But the future could be a different story. And it had to start somewhere.” – the film Little Children

 

“I’ve been stuck in my work for almost eight years without being promoted, and I’m feeling discontented lately. Now the position I’ve been waiting for has opened. Help me pray for guidance and that the Lord will pour out His blessings for me in the workplace. Whatever the outcome of my application, may I learn to accept God’s will. Asking for your prayers… thank you as always!” This was the message I sent close and trusted friends about a month ago. 

The time I sent that fervent prayer and appeal for assistance from friends, I was nearing despondency, burdened by deep personal problems and a stagnating career. I was in a good place, working in a highly regarded company that offers benefits envied by others. It’s just I know I can do a lot more and all my skills are not being utilized, rusting away.

 

My current position was great if I was in the situation I was two years ago. Overtime was rarely required. I can forget about work the moment I leave the office since it doesn’t need to be brought home. The times when colleagues had to call me when I was on leave were few and far between and were manageable.

 

When my situation changed, among my many realizations was that I need not shun a progressive career in favor of family life. It can be a win-win situation. Either aspect need not suffer because of the other.

 

It was freeing and empowering. I gained courage to dare, to explore. I have nothing to lose.

 

There were people God sent as His instruments. At the time I first encountered them, I didn’t realize how vital the role they would play would be. I am extremely grateful for the helping hand they lent.

 

“Your prayers are indeed powerful! I will be interviewed by the chief security advisor on April 7, Tuesday 9:30am. May the Lord bless me with a better job, may I pass this final interview. Thank you for praying for me and for being a great friend!”

 

Just a month ago, I was on the verge of losing heart over the seeming hopelessness of  my situation. I was at risk of being left behind. My immediate superior was being tasked to head a project just when I was enjoying finally being close to him and appreciating his friendship. The person to replace him had a supervising style that doesn’t sit well with me and I was dreading the prospect of working with this person. My only other teammate is being considered for promotion and I tried my hardest to be happy for him instead of being bitter and envious. Thankfully, I succeeded on this.

 

“Whatever the outcome, I am thankful for having this interview by our Singaporean expat. I consider it a wonderful experience as I learned new things about myself and my capabilities. It was not a standard interview as he had a unique approach, giving situations and testing my memory. By next week, I will know the outcome. Thank you, friend, for the prayers and for being there for me!”

 

God with His surprises is telling me He’s in control. He is taking care of me and He knows my every need. He will provide for me at the time He deems best. Not because I deserve it, but because He loves me and wants the best for me.

 

Isn’t it overwhelming to have your prayers answered? I had to temper my giddiness with a prayer that the Lord’s will always prevail in my life, trusting that He knows best and has “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  (Jeremiah 29:11b)

 

I am not exactly overflowing with confidence regarding this new road I am about to take in my occupation. It is a career shift, and  I have a lot to learn. I need to study. Thus I am filled with apprehension. But I am also filled with hope and joy, in no doubt that the Lord has great plans for my life.

 

Prayer:  Lord, lead me to the fulfillment of Your plans for my life.

Leave a Reply

