7/365 Starting the Week Right

When you think of the start of the week the words “manic Monday” immediately come to mind. But me & my God, we’re here to buck that stereotype.

As I begin 2013, I pray for the blessing of focus. For the past year, I felt my life was in major disarray & I attribute that to my cluttered state of mind, my lack of focus in anything, especially my work. Of course, I want this year to be better and different. I want to leave that chaotic frame of mind in 2012, and be a new & better worker this year.

The same goes for being periodically depressed whenever reality sinks in about those unfulfilled dreams. I believe and I know that God put me where I am for a purpose. He is working behind the scenes, refining me, and orchestrating something overwhelmingly wonderful in my future.  So while He works out the details, I try to do the best I can where I am. That does not mean resigning myself to fate. I still exert effort to improve my current situation. It’s more of trial and error strategy. But it’s better than not trying at all, and being left wondering what if.

So those trite sayings about everything being up to you actually ring true  once you let their meaning sink in.

God wants the best for me. And while I wait for His perfect timing, I will strive to bloom where I’m planted, make the best out of my present situation, and still do my best, what ever I can, to improve my lot. While praying, pleading and crying out to God to turn His eyes on me and help me in my struggle.

Indeed, things will get better. The best is yet to come.

As day 7 ends, I thank the Lord for a productive day at work, for fruitful meetings, for the chance to plan, for supportive colleagues, for people to help me at work, for being able to use the internet, for Facebook and Path and funny, inspiring, informative posts, for the opportunity to serve in SMG, for a fun planning & get together with MF friends, for an exciting array of activities for the year, for food given from the little each one has that becomes abundant for all, for night conversations with my daughter, for her wonderful works of art, for the simple yet overwhelming gift of a beautiful, smart and talented daughter who gives me pause to think what more could I ask for when I already have her.

We receive from him whatever we ask, because we keep his commandments and do what pleases him. And his commandment is this: we should believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and love one another just as he commanded us.  ~ 1 John 3:22-23

Leave a comment