Summer Rain

Into each life some rain must fall… so goes a song. Contrary to the song’s meaning, after an apparently long drought, I was longing for refreshing rain. Having been sick for more than a month, I was feeling rather down. The bluer I felt, the more my mind wandered on to things which weren’t going well in my life. I had to dig myself out of the sinking pit of despondency so I willed my mind to focus on my blessings.

The latest talk series “Emo” saved the day, as Bro. Randy Borromeo discussed the Rules of Happiness to help shift the focus of those who are in the same boat as I am to look at the brighter side of life. If you want to be happy don’t follow your feelings, let your feelings follow you. This message gives a jolt to those who let themselves be enslaved by their negative emotions.

God made us to be in control of our feelings, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control (2 Timothy 1:7 ). We can let fear rule over us – the fear that we won’t be in control. Bro. Randy reminded about the verse which clearly says we have the power and control. It will be a shame not to rise up to what God created us to be – as masters of our own emotions. We always have a choice. It is up to us to choose between victory or defeat. Thus, we can change our thoughts so our feelings follow us instead of us being controlled by our emotions.

Without handles, it would be difficult to manage emotions. He shared one handle, which are the rules of happiness. There are just two rules – sophisticated and simple. Sophisticated rules involve high expense to make one happy, such as expensive jewelry, costly restaurant meals or vacations. Simple rules allow small things to make you happy, such as spending time with friends and loved ones, instead of material things, having an affordable meal at a fastfood when dating your spouse, as opposed to fine dining.

If you simplify your rules of happiness, it would be hard to be disappointed. By taking delight in the small things, when big things come, it would be a happy surprise, a bonus. I was able to bounce back by savoring the moments I got to spend with my daughter while I was on sick leave. As my health was restored, contentment settled within with the thought I had everything I need – someone to love, work I enjoyed doing, and friends who lift me up. Anything more would be bonus. And guess what, after a hot summer’s day, the rain fell just now to refresh the parched earth.

Leave a Reply

