Chapter 2014: Page 2

Among the 101 things in my to do list are finding my guiding verse for the year, designing my cover photo, finishing my writeup for my new job, completing the content for the Feast bulletin, updating my dream board…

In the latter part of 2013, my guiding Bible verse was Jeremiah 33:3. Call to me and I will answer you, and show you great and unsearchable things you do not know. I still love it up to now. Something strange happened related to this. I unearthed a gift I got for Christmas two years ago. Call me unappreciative but I’m not exactly filled with delight with knickknacks that don’t actually have much use except as decoration (dust gatherer, in my opinion). So the item remained hidden and forgotten, until I got around to my poor excuse at spring cleaning.

It was a decoration shaped like a scroll, with the Jeremiah verse on it! Now I can’t bring myself to dispose it.

During the start of 2013, however, in the design of my cover photo, I used Deuteronomy 28:12 — The Lord will open the heavens, the storehouse of his bounty, to send rain on your land in season and to bless all the work of your hands. You will lend to many nations but will borrow from none.

Here’s the cover photo design I posted last year:

cover 2013

But at the end of the day, I couldn’t tick off anything from the list I mentioned above. I just managed to do a little bit of everything, without finishing anything. Having said that, I wasn’t able to finish this post for my daily 500 word thingy within the day… I violated one of the rules, and kept on editing and rewriting parts of it. Finished this on day 3.

The writeup for my new job is coming along nicely and is half finished. For the bulletin content, need one vital article that still hasn’t been sent, and I need yet again to finish another writeup for that.

Here’s how my dream board is coming along:

Dreamboard 2014

One thing I’m glad about though is I finally got that much-needed mani-pedi. I thought before this was a personal luxury. But having endured peeling skin around my fingernails, over the holidays and beyond, and chipped nail polish convinced me this was more of a necessity than a want. My toe nails are now ready to celebrate a happy new year 🙂

So how did I while away day 2 into oblivion? Finally, my boss read my letter, and I knew she would react that way. Thankfully, she didn’t get angry, unless she’s really good at hiding it. We had a long no holds barred conversation about how I came around to my decision, what I can suggest to improve how things are being currently done, and who I see will be the next best person to do the job she’s doing now. It was really interesting.

I had an unscheduled lunch with a good friend who needed to discuss a development in her personal life. We had to pore over and decide if what happened was a good thing or not. But I think I managed to steer her to thinking it’s better to look at things positively.

I broke the news to some other office mates, which led to a lunch date scheduled sometime next week to celebrate a birthday and say goodbye. The rest of the afternoon is when I got parts of the writing and content gathering done but unfinished. Then had to rush off to get to my mani-pedi appointment.

What makes me sad was I didn’t get to go to the first Friday mass of 2014. At least I’m glad to have attended the first Wednesday mass. I just hope next month I won’t miss the first Friday mass, and be able to sustain it for the rest of the year.

Puttering around the internet, I came across one of the verses which always strike me

But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. ~ Isaiah 40:31

I’m thinking this could be “the one”! 🙂

Putting out another reminder here. A couple of possible topics for my succeeding posts could be the new job writeup and the bulletin writeup.

Leave a Reply

